University of Surrey

Test tubes in the lab Research in the ATI Dance Research

Multi-quasiparticle sub-nanosecond isomers in 178W

Rudigier, M., Walker, P. M., Canavan, R.L., Podolyak, Zs., Regan, P. H., Söderström, P.-A., Lebois, M., Wilson, J.N., Jovancevic, N., Blazhev, A. , Benito, J., Bottoni, S., Brunet, M., Cieplicka-Orynczak, N., Courtin, S., Doherty, D. T., Fraile, L.M., Hadynska-Klek, K., Heine, M., Iskra, Ł.W., Jolie, J., Karayonchev, V., Kennington, A. R., Koseoglou, P., Lotay, G., Lorusso, G., Nakhostin, M., Nita, C.R., Oberstedt, S., Qi, L., Régis, J.-M., Sánchez-Tembleque, V., Shearman, R., Witt, W., Vedia, V. and Zell, K.O. (2020) Multi-quasiparticle sub-nanosecond isomers in 178W Physics Letters, Section B: Nuclear, Elementary Particle and High-Energy Physics, 801, 135140.

[img] Text
plbpaper.pdf - Accepted version Manuscript
Restricted to Repository staff only

Download (2MB)
[img]
Preview
Text
1-s2.0-S0370269319308627-main.pdf - Version of Record
Available under License Creative Commons Attribution.

Download (451kB) | Preview

Abstract

We report on the first measurement of the half-lives of and four-quasiparticle states in the even-even nucleus 178W. The sub-nanosecond half-lives were measured by applying the centroid shift method to data taken with LaBr3(Ce) scintillator detectors of the NuBall array at the ALTO facility in Orsay, France. The half-lives of these states only became experimentally accessible by the combination of several experimental techniques - scintillator fast timing, isomer spectroscopy with a pulsed beam, and the event-by-event calorimetry information provided by the NuBall array. The measured half-lives are and for the and states, respectively. The decay transitions include weakly hindered E1 and E2 branches directly to the ground-state band, bypassing the two-quasiparticle states. This is the first such observation for an E1 transition. The interpretation of the small hindrance hinges on mixing between the ground-state band and the t-band.

Item Type: Article
Divisions : Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences > Physics
Authors :
NameEmailORCID
Rudigier, M.m.rudigier@surrey.ac.uk
Walker, P. M.P.Walker@surrey.ac.uk
Canavan, R.L.r.canavan@surrey.ac.uk
Podolyak, Zs.Z.Podolyak@surrey.ac.uk
Regan, P. H.P.Regan@surrey.ac.uk
Söderström, P.-A.
Lebois, M.
Wilson, J.N.
Jovancevic, N.
Blazhev, A.
Benito, J.
Bottoni, S.
Brunet, M.m.h.brunet@surrey.ac.uk
Cieplicka-Orynczak, N.
Courtin, S.
Doherty, D. T.d.t.doherty@surrey.ac.uk
Fraile, L.M.
Hadynska-Klek, K.k.hadynska-klek@surrey.ac.uk
Heine, M.
Iskra, Ł.W.
Jolie, J.
Karayonchev, V.
Kennington, A. R.a.r.kennington@surrey.ac.uk
Koseoglou, P.
Lotay, G.g.lotay@surrey.ac.uk
Lorusso, G.
Nakhostin, M.M.Nakhostin@surrey.ac.uk
Nita, C.R.
Oberstedt, S.
Qi, L.
Régis, J.-M.
Sánchez-Tembleque, V.
Shearman, R.r.shearman@surrey.ac.uk
Witt, W.
Vedia, V.
Zell, K.O.
Date : 10 February 2020
Funders : Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC)
DOI : 10.1016/j.physletb.2019.135140
Copyright Disclaimer : ©2019 The Author(s).Published by ElsevierB.V.This is an open access article under the CCBY license(http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/).
Additional Information : unding support is acknowledged from the UK Science and Technology Facilities Council under grant numbers ST/L005743/1 and ST/P005314/1, as well as the BMBF under grants NuSTAR.DA 05P15RDFN1, and 05P19PKFNA. This work was also supported by the Spanish gouvernment projects FPA2015-65035-P and RTI2018-098868-B-I00, as well as the project B2017/BMD-3888 PRONTO-CM. P.H. Regan acknowledges support from the UK Department of Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS) via the Natioanl Measurement System (NMS). R.L. Canavan acknowledges support from the BEIS, and ENSAR2 transnational access funding from the European Commission.
Depositing User : Diane Maxfield
Date Deposited : 21 Jan 2020 12:05
Last Modified : 21 Jan 2020 12:05
URI: http://epubs.surrey.ac.uk/id/eprint/853355

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item

Downloads

Downloads per month over past year


Information about this web site

© The University of Surrey, Guildford, Surrey, GU2 7XH, United Kingdom.
+44 (0)1483 300800