University of Surrey

Test tubes in the lab Research in the ATI Dance Research

Enhanced diffusion and bound exciton interactions of high density implanted bismuth donors in silicon

Peach, T., Stockbridge, K., Li, Juerong, Homewood, K. P., Lourenco, M. A., Chick, S., Hughes, M. A., Murdin, B. N. and Clowes, S. K. (2019) Enhanced diffusion and bound exciton interactions of high density implanted bismuth donors in silicon Applied Physics Letters, 115 (7), 072102. pp. 1-8.

[img]
Preview
Text
Enhanced diffusion and bound exciton interactions.pdf - Accepted version Manuscript

Download (2MB) | Preview

Abstract

This study reports the effect of an increasing ion dose on both the electrical activation yield and the characteristic properties of implanted bismuth donors in silicon. A strong dependence of implant fluence is observed on both the yield of bismuth donors and the measured impurity diffusion. This is such that higher ion concentrations result in both a decrease in activation and an enhancement in donor migration through interactions with mobile silicon lattice vacancies and interstitials. Furthermore, the effect of implant fluence on the properties of the Si:Bi donor bound exciton, D0X, is also explored using photoluminescence (PL) measurements. In the highest density sample, centers corresponding to the PL of bismuth D0Xs within both the high density region and the lower concentration diffused tail of the implanted donor profile are identifiable.

Item Type: Article
Divisions : Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences > Physics
Authors :
NameEmailORCID
Peach, T.t.peach@surrey.ac.uk
Stockbridge, K.kristian.stockbridge@surrey.ac.uk
Li, Juerongjuerong.li@surrey.ac.uk
Homewood, K. P.K.Homewood@surrey.ac.uk
Lourenco, M. A.M.Lourenco@surrey.ac.uk
Chick, S.s.chick@surrey.ac.uk
Hughes, M. A.M.Hughes@surrey.ac.uk
Murdin, B. N.B.Murdin@surrey.ac.uk
Clowes, S. K.S.Clowes@surrey.ac.uk
Date : 12 August 2019
Funders : Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC)
DOI : 10.1063/1.5115835
Grant Title : ADDRFSS
Copyright Disclaimer : © 2019 AIP Publishing LLC. This is the author's peer reviewed, accepted manuscript. However, the online version of record will be different from this version once it has been copyedited and typeset. PLEASE CITE THIS ARTICLE AS DOI: 10.1063/1.5115835
Depositing User : Clive Harris
Date Deposited : 04 Oct 2019 10:37
Last Modified : 04 Oct 2019 10:37
URI: http://epubs.surrey.ac.uk/id/eprint/852879

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item

Downloads

Downloads per month over past year


Information about this web site

© The University of Surrey, Guildford, Surrey, GU2 7XH, United Kingdom.
+44 (0)1483 300800