University of Surrey

Test tubes in the lab Research in the ATI Dance Research

Shell evolution approaching the N=20 island of inversion: Structure of ²⁹Mg

Matta, A., Catford, W. M., Orr, N. A., Henderson, J., Ruotsalainen, P., Hackman, G., Garnsworthy, A. B., Delaunay, F., Wilkinson, R., Lotay, G. , Tsunoda, Naofumi, Otsuka, Takaharu, Knapton, A. J., Ball, G. C., Bernier, N., Burbadge, C., Chester, A., Cross, D. S., Cruz, S., Diget, C. Aa., Domingo, T., Drake, T. E., Evitts, L. J., Garcia, F. H., Hallam, S., MacConnachie, E., Moukaddam, M., Muecher, D., Padilla-Rodal, E., Paetkau, O., Park, J., Pore, J. L., Rizwan, U., Smallcombe, J., Smith, J. K., Starosta, K., Svensson, C. E., Williams, J. and Williams, M. (2019) Shell evolution approaching the N=20 island of inversion: Structure of ²⁹Mg Physical Review C, 99, 044320. 044320-1.

Shell evolution.pdf - Version of Record

Download (1MB) | Preview


The island of inversion for neutron-rich nuclei in the vicinity of N=20 has become the testing ground par excellence for our understanding and modeling of shell evolution with isospin. In this context, the structure of the transitional nucleus ²⁹Mg is critical. The first quantitative measurements of the single-particle structure of ²⁹Mg are reported, using data from the d(²⁸Mg, p γ)²⁹Mg reaction. Two key states carrying significant =3 (f-wave) strength were identified at 2.40±0.10 (Jπ=5/2¯) and 4.28±0.04 MeV (7/2¯). New state-of-the-art shell-model calculations have been performed and the predictions are compared in detail with the experimental results. While the two lowest 7/2¯ levels are well described, the sharing of single-particle strength disagrees with experiment for both the 3/2¯ and 5/2¯ levels and there appear to be general problems with configurations involving the p3/2 neutron orbital and core-excited components. These conclusions are supported by an analysis of the neutron occupancies in the shell-model calculations.

Item Type: Article
Divisions : Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences > Physics
Authors :
Catford, W.
Orr, N. A.
Henderson, J.
Ruotsalainen, P.
Hackman, G.
Garnsworthy, A. B.
Delaunay, F.
Tsunoda, Naofumi
Otsuka, Takaharu
Knapton, A.
Ball, G. C.
Bernier, N.
Burbadge, C.
Chester, A.
Cross, D. S.
Cruz, S.
Diget, C. Aa.
Domingo, T.
Drake, T. E.
Evitts, L.
Garcia, F. H.
MacConnachie, E.
Muecher, D.
Padilla-Rodal, E.
Paetkau, O.
Park, J.
Pore, J. L.
Rizwan, U.
Smallcombe, J.
Smith, J. K.
Starosta, K.
Svensson, C. E.
Williams, J.
Williams, M.
Date : 29 April 2019
Funders : Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC), Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC)
DOI : 10.1103/PhysRevC.99.044320
Copyright Disclaimer : © 2019 American Physical Society
Depositing User : Clive Harris
Date Deposited : 17 Sep 2019 15:25
Last Modified : 17 Sep 2019 15:25

Actions (login required)

View Item View Item


Downloads per month over past year

Information about this web site

© The University of Surrey, Guildford, Surrey, GU2 7XH, United Kingdom.
+44 (0)1483 300800